Buckeyes and Sabermetrics
OSU Football
OSU Hoops
OSU Baseball
OSU Hockey
Contact Me

David Boston catches the winning TD pass in the Rose Bowl

Record: 11-1
Coach: John Cooper
Selectors: None

9/7     Rice     W, 70-7
9/21   Pittsburgh   W, 72-0
9/28  @Notre Dame  W, 29-16
10/5   Penn State  W, 38-7
10/12  Wisconsin W, 17-14
10/19  @Purdue W, 42-14
10/26  @Iowa W, 38-26
11/2   Minnesota W, 45-0
11/9  @Illinois  W, 48-0
11/16  @Indiana  W, 27-17
11/23  Michigan  L, 13-9
1/1/97   Arizona St(Rose)  W, 20-17
QB Stanley Jackson/Joe Germaine                                DE Mike Vrabel
HB Pepe Pearson                                                          DT Winfield Garnett
FB Matt Calhoun                                                          DT Luke Fickell
TE DJ Jones                                                                 DE Matt Finkes
WR Buster Tillman                                                      LB Greg Bellisari
WR Dimitrious Stanley/David Boston                        LB Andy Katzenmoyer
C Juan Porter                                                                LB Ryan Miller
G Rob Murphy                                                           CB Shawn Springs
G LeShun Daniels                                                       WS Rob Kelly
T Orlando Pace                                                            SS  Damon Moore
T Eric Gohlstin                                                           CB Antoine Winfield
K Josh Jackson                                                             P  Brent Bartholomew

The case:
Coming into the bowl seasons, the top 4 teams in the polls were #1 Florida State(11-0), #2 Arizona State(11-0), #3 Florida(11-1), and #4 Ohio State(10-1).  In the Rose Bowl, OSU rallied with under 30 seconds to go to beat Arizona State.  In the Sugar Bowl, Florida destroyed Florida State 52-20 after losing to them in the regular season.  That left four teams with one losses.  Florida was awarded the title, but there is no reason why an OSU team that also lost just one game and also defeated a perfect team in a bowl game should not get to share the national title with Florida.  Without Ohio's win, Arizona State would have been the only undefeated and the clear national champion anyway.  1996 should be shared by Florida and Ohio State.

Joe Germaine(Rose Bowl MVP) and John Cooper with the Rose Bowl trophy